Day #2 Back Squats

Perfect-squat

June 13, 2013

20 Rep Back Squats

6×5 Bench Press @ 80% 1RM

3 Rounds

15 Renegade Rows

25 Slam Balls

Today is the second day of our 20 rep back squat cycle.  Since we decided to way over do it on our first day (80% of a 1RM, seriously?) we decided to actually follow what was originally prescribed.  50-60% of our 1RM was what we were supposed to do, and then add 10lb a week or in our case 5lb each day (since we’re doing it 2x a week).  Scaling it back was not prescribed, however when you totally blow your legs out – it’s time to live and learn and not do that again.  And, surprise, it went sooooooooooooooo much better! 

Dr. Bonner and his PA specifically warned against heavy bench presses post surgery.  I think that’s an easy enough thing to do, don’t you?  I mean, I don’t want to go through that surgery again…ever.  Today I was very conservative and worked on form – really feeling the scapular retraction, focusing on my breath, pressing my feet in to the plates that brought the floor to me (I’m a short ninja), and not being a dumb ass with an ego and adding weight to the empty bar to just push through the pain….breathe…(oh, did I say that out loud?).  After warming up with the 22lb bar and the 33lb bar I just stuck to the 45lb’er.  Something I’ve said before, and will likely say many more times, is that my shoulder – now repaired – will instantly tell me when I have poor alignment and/or form.  (It’s worth bolding to drive the point home, promise.)  My theory is that if I work consistently on bench pressing at conservative weights I will still get the same benefits of the movement and will still gain some strength despite the lighter loads.  Let’s see if it works, especially since before surgery I was a weakling when it came to push ups, ring dips, and the like – i.e. I don’t like them.

The metcon was a good one.  I like renegade rows and think that they are great for shoulder and core stability – if done correctly, of course.  And there is something fun about doing a push up with dumbbells in my hands (didn’t I just say that I don’t like pushups?).  Don’t judge, I feel like a strong super hero when I do them, get over it.  The rows went damn slow, but better slow than fast and wrong.  Slam balls have always been one of my favorite moves and today was the first time I was able to do them post surgery.  WIN!

Philosophical question of the day: Why does it take something like surgery to show us how important it is to be smart with our bodies?  Chew on that – a post will be coming your way on that topic soon too.

Leave a Reply

